The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

21 Days Done

on July 28, 2014

Yesterday was the end of my 21 days on the Beachbody 21 day fix.  Woo hoo!  I made it through!

I really enjoyed the program.  It gave me the motivation and accountability to not go off the deep end with my eating, which I tend to do when I’m stressed or tired.  And boy let me tell you, these past 21 days were full of stressful moments and sleepiness.  Usually for 3 weeks of that, I would gain.  But I didn’t.  I lost!

I came into this not expecting to lose a lot of weight.  To be perfectly honest, I don’t have a lot of weight to lose.

I decided to join in on the 21 day fix because I was eating way too much.  My exercise was great, my weight was fine, but it was above my “comfort zone” and some of my clothes were not fitting right.  I knew I needed to get my eating under control and not eat half a container of peanut butter when stress hits (yes, I’ve done that!).  I figured I’d lose 3 lbs, 1 a week.  And I lost 4.  So yay, goal surpassed!

And really I could have lost more.  My stress this final week did take over a bit so I ate more graham crackers and wheat crackers than I was supposed to.  I also ate a bit too much peanut butter.  But, I did not eat a whole box of crackers, limited myself to a tablespoon of peanut butter at a time (I was not supposed to eat more than 2 teaspoons a day), and I ate graham crackers instead of hitting the candy jar.  So all in all, even though I did not beat my stress eating, the program definitely helped me curtail it!

And now I look at food a bit differently.  I used to carb load, because honestly it’s just what I like.  I would seek out carbs for every meal and snack and it was the basis of my diet.  I definitely did not need as many carbs as I was eating, even though they are usually healthy carbs.

Now I have meals and snacks with no carbs.  I still incorporate healthy carbohydrates into my diet, but they are not the staple of every meal.  I eat fruit or Greek yogurt for a snack instead of grabbing the Triscuits.  I haven’t had carbs for breakfast in quite a while.  And eating more veggies and protein has really made me feel fuller.  The last time I had some oatmeal (for a snack), I felt bloated and too full.  I like feeling lighter and comfortable instead.  I’ve taught my body to like that again, and it makes me so happy!

I followed the workout plan that came with the program and I really loved the DVDs!  They were all challenging and I was a sweaty mess following them all!  I was able to incorporate some running into the program as well, which I liked.

I did do the shakeology as well.  I got the combo pack which is 7 strawberry, 7 chocolate and 7 vanilla flavored.  I tried each of them with just water, and bleck!  I honestly had to drink it with a straw towards the back of my mouth so less tongue action, and follow it with a water chaser to get the flavor out.  I couldn’t even finish the whole smoothie and would just drink half and force the other half down the next morning.

They are MUCH better with add ins!  I actually kind of enjoyed them with additions.  I hate that it went against my portions, so I missed out on extras throughout the day, but they needed the extras.  My fav combinations were:

Strawberry, half a banana and 1/4 cup of pineapple

Chocolate and a banana

Vanilla and 1/4 banana with 1/2 cup frozen blueberries

I added 10 oz of water to each and about 1/2 cup of ice cubes.  Blend and enjoy.  Those I could definitely finish!

All in all, I can see what the buzz is about with this program.  I loved having the Facebook interaction with my coach (also a good friend of mine, which helps) and checking in every day.  I loved knowing my workouts.  I loved relearning good eating habits.  And I loved seeing my abs return!  Here’s my favorite “after” picture.

abs

I’m not a coach, and I’m not considering becoming a coach.  But I have to be honest.  I like this program and may even join another Beachbody program sometime in the near future.  (Did anyone say PiYo?)

5 responses to “21 Days Done

  1. hnb1123 says:

    Hey there you could have bought from me! I am a coach, so if you decide you want another program ten let me know. You can get switched over where I am your coach!

  2. hnb1123 says:

    I am a coach you could have ordered from me! If you decide you want another program you can get it from me! It is really easy to switch me to be your coach!

  3. hnb1123 says:

    If you have a coach that you like and is really helpful and motivational that is awesome!

  4. Good Job!! I’ve lost over 30 lbs using Beachbody products! I love 21 day fix and PiYo! I agree with you about Shakeology, I don’t like it mixed with just water, I use coconut or almond milk and make some amazing creations! I even freeze almond milk and use instead of ice cubes and it makes it more like ice cream!

Leave a Reply

