The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

Adjustments Needed

on July 22, 2014

Is it Tuesday?  Yeah, I think today is Tuesday.

This week I was supposed to be on vacation, but alas, I am not.  The main reason being the pup’s state of health.  She’s doing better now, but she was to be accompanying us on this vacation and we figured taking her miles and miles away from her vet was not a good idea.  And with my mother-in-laws surgery and me with the horrible allergy testing last week, we decided to cancel.

And yes, I am a bit pouty.  Only because there are no real vacations planned for the rest of the year and I desperately want/need a getaway!

Oh well, such is life.  Suck it up and live on, right?

Since I was supposed to be on vacation, work is minimal.  I kept my time off while the husband is working.  I am lucky in that I have more flexibility than him, but really my time off isn’t fun without him around.  I’ve been cleaning, exercising, and then cleaning some more.  Yay vacation!

Ok, sorry that was my last pouting moment!!

So, this Sunday will be day 21 of my 21 Day Fix.  This week I attempted some different recipes – like stuffed peppers and a quinoa taco bake.  Some were kind of blah while others were decent.  The quinoa taco bake was pretty good and it will probably go in my normal rotation, but I’ve had the most success with just herbs and lemon juice on meat and veggies.  We love the 21 day all-purpose seasoning mix, and I’m excited to try the other 2 mixes she provides as well!  I’ll make sure to put the yummy recipes and seasonings on my to-blog list so look for those in the future!

I’m still liking the workouts and they are still challenging me.  Yay!  I’m doubling up on my workouts this week too.  That’s fun for me (I’m weird, right??)

And as of yesterday, I have lost a total of 4 pounds on the Fix.  My realistic goal for the 3 weeks was 3 lbs, so that’s pretty exciting!  And again, not going hungry.  So yay!

Results of the allergy test were a bit unexpected.  Well, expected, but more dramatic than I thought.  I’ve never really been able to wear sunglasses (or regular glasses), earrings, most rings, and some necklaces and bracelets because I’d develop a rash.  It’s been that way since I was a kid.  Nickel allergy is not uncommon, so I expected that to come out positive.

Well, it’s uber-positive.  Big time reaction.  I still have a HUGE rash on my back from nickel.

My dermatologist suggested I go on a low nickel diet.  She gave me some copies from a book she had on nickel allergies and foods.  What foods are high in nickel?  Just all the staples of my diet!!

  • Spinach
  • Kale
  • Whole Grains
  • Oats
  • Soy protein
  • Rice
  • Sesame and sunflower seeds
  • Pineapple
  • Almonds
  • Peanuts
  • and the worst of all…chocolate!

I’m suppose to avoid these foods?!?!  How??

That is a big journey I’m going to have to take.

Right now, my pantry and fridge are full of these items, so I will have to eat them up and then find replacements.  If anyone has any suggestions, please let me know.  I want healthy replacements – not white bread, white pasta and corn.  It’s so sad, so sad!

Plus, I need to figure out what makeup, lotions, etc. have nickel in them and rid myself of those and get new non-nickel products.  That’s harder than you think.  Packaging doesn’t really tell you if it has nickel in it.  Oh sigh.

So, yeah, this post was a little more pouty than I wanted it to be.  I’m really not that unhappy.  I’m pretty happy, actually!  I just am “adjusting”.

 

One response to “Adjustments Needed

  1. Bummer you had to cancel your vacation. 😦

Leave a Reply

