The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

Fixing what’s broken

on July 14, 2014

If I had magical powers, I would fix everything that’s broken in my life right now.  This includes:

  • my health/allergies
  • my mother-in-law is ill (though for personal reasons, I will not be giving details on this)
  • my stress level
  • and my dog’s slipped disc!

So what do you do when your dog has a slipped disc?  She trembles in pain, sometimes so much that she gives herself a simultaneous anxiety attack and upset stomach.  It’s heartbreaking and we can’t seem to do anything to help prevent it.  Her favorite time of day by far, dinner time, has now become a feared time in my household.

The dog is still overly excited for dinner, and eats with vigor, which is great!  Except, she gets so excited and eats so vigorously she seems to really upset her back, which leads to big problems.  We’ve tried feeding her small, frequent meals.  We are currently hand feeding her so she can’t gulp everything down in two seconds.  Neither one seems to make a big difference.  We know for at least 1 hour, usually more, after she eats dinner, we will be in for a big ride of pain from the dog.  We have one more “plan” to see if we can keep her calm with dinner which will take place tonight.  Fingers crossed it works!

Last night’s attack was crazy bad and included pacing, walking backwards (which I googled and can indicate pain or a neurological disorder) and lots of heaving and belching.  We actually had plans to eat dinner out with friends, but had to cancel.  We’ve also cancelled a vacation and trip to see friends because of the dog’s injury.  And after 2 weeks of this, I’m exhausted and I know she is too!  I just want this all resolved!  Let’s hope this weeks vet trips are helpful, because the previous 2 weeks vet trips did not seem to heal the issue.

My mother-in-law will be having surgery tomorrow.  We are all praying for an easy, successful surgery and recovery for her!  It’ll be a nervous morning in our household (and theirs) for sure!

Also tomorrow, I’m starting day 1 of skin allergy testing.  I’m not at all looking forward to it, so I’m trying not to think about it.  Next topic!

My biggest health problem, besides stress which unfortunately at the moment can not be avoided, is my disastrous eating habits.  To help with that, I signed up for the 21 day fix by beach body and I’ve just completed week 1 of the program.

At first, it was really hard to figure out what to eat and when.  I found myself saving portions because I didn’t want to use them all up and then not be able to eat later on in the day.  Plus, I have medication I take at night that I need to eat with a snack or else I get really bad nausea, so I had to save something for that.

And it ended up I saved so much I didn’t eat all my portions in a day.  I guess I didn’t have to go a bit hungry and skip a snack earlier in the day!

But by now, I’ve got it pretty much down.  I know what I can eat, and have a routine of when I eat my carbs, my healthy fat, my proteins, fruits, veggies, etc.

And you know what, I LOVE IT!

I haven’t gone out to eat (last night’s dinner was cancelled due to the dog), so I’m not sure how I would handle that, but eating at home is a breeze.  I’m actually starting to feel hungry again and hear my stomach roar, which is so satisfying, and feels great when I can feed that hunger nutritiously!

I can easily not grab a chip or cracker from the bag that my husband is snacking on.  (Which not only boosts my confidence and helps my waistline, but we’ve saved a lot of money in snacks just this past week alone!)

And we’ve had Mexican night, Chinese night, Italian night.  I’m not eating bland foods and my husband loves it too!

It’s all about portion control.  Honestly, I probably could have done this without ordering the plan, but my husband and I talked about it and we decided that having a little skin in the game was the push I needed to help myself eat better.  And it’s definitely working!

And in 1 week, I can visibly see my smaller waist, my clothes are a bit loser, and I’ve lost 2.5 lbs!

I’m excited to end the program, just because there are a few foods I would love to indulge in.  I miss cookies.  But I’m also scared, because I don’t want to fall off the wagon and start eating cookies after every meal (like I was sort of doing before).  An occasional cookie is all I want to do.  So it’ll be interesting to see how I continue post-21 days.  I guess that is a worry for the future though, and not now.  Now I’m just focusing on my health, the dogs health, and my family’s safety and health!

 

 

2 responses to “Fixing what’s broken

  1. good for you for trying the 21 day fix! Curious to hear how it goes!
    I hope you guys are able to find some relief for your poor pup!! 😦

Leave a Reply

