The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

Food, glorious food

on June 18, 2014

There are people who love food, then there are people who love food!  I have gone through different phases in my life, but right now I am in a passionate affair with food.  I’m trying my best to decrease the amount of bad and increase the amount of good in my diet (and life in general), but it doesn’t always go as planned.  Such is the life of a true food lover!

Today’s 10 Day You Challenge is 5 foods.  It will be hard to limit it to just 5, but I’ll give it a go.

1. Blueberry muffins.  I’m sure this doesn’t top many people’s food lists, but I have had a tried and true relationship with blueberry muffins since I was a kid.  If you give me a blueberry muffin, it will be consumed within 5 minutes.  I adore them!

I eat muffins in a strategic manner too.  First, I eat just the brown baked goodness of the top.  Not the whole muffin top – just the very outer edge of the muffin top, the covering if you will.  I love the stickiness of it.  It’s one of the weirdest things I do when eating, but I can’t help it.

Next, comes the rest of the muffin top – the inner goodness.  Many times I will just pop off the top of the muffin to get a handful of the moist, airy and blueberry-rific inner yumminess and eat that.

Finally, the bottom.  I love the bottom of the muffin as well.  It is great in its own right.  I find if you have a bad muffin bottom, you just have a bad muffin.  You should enjoy every part for its glory and tastiness!

2. Chocolate Chip Cookies.  This is a popular one I’m sure.  I can’t go a week without having an intense chocolate chip cookie craving.  I prefer the soft and chewy kind, but I am also a fan of the crispy as well.  I’ve had bad chocolate chip cookies in my life, but they are few and far between.

3. Macaroni & Cheese.  You can make this as healthy or as unhealthy as you like, which I love!  But I’m a fan of the true baked macaroni and cheese.  There’s nothing better!

4. Bananas.  Odd, considering the first 3 choices right.  But I always have bananas in the house and I eat one daily.  There is something comforting to me about the taste of bananas.  And I love them cold out of the fridge!

5. Chips and/or Crackers.  I’m a salty girl!  I crave salt and have a soft spot for chips and crackers.  With crackers, my absolute favorite is Wheat Thins.  So much so that I never buy them because I can’t stop eating them!  But I also enjoy a good Triscuit (thin crisps – yum!) or Saltine (I try to get these from Whole Foods so they are a little less bad for me).  But really, almost any cracker will do.

My favorite chips is the plain old Baked Lays.  I also enjoy Baked Ruffles.  From time to time I will indulge in a regular potato chip or even a flavored one, but I never crave those like I do Baked Lays.

So there we go, 5 foods!  Although I could have also included guacamole, pancakes, turkey sandwiches, peanut butter (with or without jelly), yogurt, brownies, strawberry shortcake…oh I should stop myself now!

Leave a Reply

