The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

Challenges for the week: Self esteem, tests and volunteering

on June 16, 2014

I’m still working on my challenges of the week.

Last week my challenge was to work on finding the right path in my life.  Of course, that’s not usually something you can figure out in a week, so it will be a continuing “project”.  But that’s just fine!  (In case you are interested in the work I did do last week, I will be posting on it tomorrow.)

Today, I’m going to focus on what I want to accomplish this week.  Most of this is based on of the work I did this last week.

As part of my ongoing “project me” I am doing some work on my self-esteem.  This week, I’ve assigned myself the task of writing down my strengths, accomplishments, and all around great qualities.  A Yay me list if you will.  In a world where the negative is easily identified and the positive is often overlooked, it’s easy to have low self-esteem.  So I am challenging myself to give myself some props – and write it down!  This sounds daunting to me, a modest girl, but I hope it’ll be easier than I think!  The list is due on Thursday.

Keep on studying!  My ACSM Health and Fitness Test is only 8 days away!  And while the thought of not having to study anymore is thrilling, I’m starting to develop a little anxiety as to how prepared I am.  The way to beat that anxiety: study!  So I have to force myself to buckle down and get things done!

Saturday I have signed up for a Habitat for Humanity Project.  My challenge is to NOT back out of it.  I’m an expert at backing out of new, scary and alone experiences.  (This is a women’s only project, so I am going absolutely on my own – no hubby, no friends, nothing).  Believe it or not, the whole thing sounds overwhelming.  I have no construction skills and no one I’m comfortable with to follow around.  But I can’t back out.  I’ve backed out of too many things lately so I can’t let myself off the hook again!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

