The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

10 Day You Challenge: Day 9

on June 10, 2014

Day 9: Nine Loves (in no particular order)

  1. My husband.  Awww…..right?  Yes, I love my husband more than words can say.  He is kind, generous, fun and believes in me more than anyone else in my life!  I can’t say how much he means to me.  I don’t know where I would be without him.
  2. My dog.  She’s been in my life for 12 years, and as a 13.5 year old dachshund/beagle mix, she’s losing her hearing and becoming more obstinent as she ages, but gosh darn it I love that grumpy old lady!  She can still make me smile even when I don’t want to, just by being her adorable and sweet self.
  3. My family.  Of course, right?
  4. Being active.  I love to move – whether it’s an exercise class or playing in the park.  Today I took a step class to mix things up a bit.  I am very out of touch with step lingo, but held my own alright.  But I had fun because I was moving!
  5. A good book.  I love to get lost in an incredible story.  A good book that you don’t want to put down at night and pick back up first thing in the morning is one of life’s greatest pleasures.
  6. Traveling.  Seeing the world, both ordinary and extraordinary, just makes me happy.  I love to pack a bag and explore something new.
  7. Baking.  There’s something about putting flour, sugar, butter and eggs together and making something that smells and tastes divine that really touches my soul.  I just wish there were fewer calories in baked goods!
  8. A good bout of silliness.  The kind that gives you the giggles when you think about it hours after it occurred.  It can be anything from making funny faces to playing a game from childhood.  Life is sad without silly time.
  9. Getting a good massage.  (And yes, there are bad massages – trust me, I’ve had some!).  A relaxing and rejuvenating massage can make me feel blissful and renewed.  It can make your troubles seem so little and give you hope and happiness for life.  A good massage can be a lifesaver!
Leave a Reply

