The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

10 Day You Challenge: 10 Fears

on June 5, 2014

I don’t know if it’s the return of the Southern humidity or what, but man have I been dragging lately!  My days have seemed long and difficult, but I’m trucking through.  Hopefully soon my body will adjust and I can get back to my normal bouncy (more or less) self.

I’ve been keeping up with my studies though.  Yay!  I think I should have my flash cards done by Sunday (as long as I force myself to keep studying during the weekend).  And then the power sessions begin.  Flash cards here I come with 19 days left to my big exam!

I am a frequent read of the blogger Peanut Butter Fingers.  I like her light yet informative style, and seeing others live their lives with love and joy always inspires me to do the same.  It’s a little odd that she recently announced she’s moving to my hometown.  Whenever I read others blogs they always seem almost like fictional characters to me – they live far away and have lives different from mine.  I guess her move will kick the reality back into blog reading for me!

She’s done some posts on the 10 day you challenge and I thought it would be a fun way for my readers to get to know me and maybe I’ll get to know myself a little better as well.  So without further ado, here we go.

10DayYouChallenge_thumb

Day 1: Ten Secrets.

  1. I talk to myself.  A lot.  I’m alone the majority of the day, except for my sweet pup.  So I will talk to her, but most of the time I talk to myself.  It has carried over into public venues and I’m pretty sure people tend to think I’m crazy when I do that.  I do try to at least just mouth the words when I’m out in public – but I doubt that looks any saner!
  2. I’m kind of a body hater right now.  I haven’t always been like this.  There’s always been parts of me I am less comfortable than others, like my big post-gymnastics thighs or my small chest.  But as I’ve gotten older I got comfortable with these parts of myself.  But ever since I turned 30 (I’m now 34), my body has changed.  I can’t keep up the same lifestyle and still stay fit and trim.  So things are jiggling a little more than I’d like now and I won’t wear certain clothing items because I don’t feel comfortable in them.  Plus I hear myself complaining about being fat a lot (though I know I’m not).  I hate that I’m a body hater again.  I need to fix that!
  3. I sometimes get really jealous of my husband’s job.  He has a very stressful, but somewhat normal, full-time office job.  I’ve been “in between jobs” for quite a while now.  I have had a stressful full-time office job before and HATED it.  I know it’s not for me.  But I also know being home alone isn’t for me either.  So I get jealous that he gets to get dressed up, go to work, interact with people, accomplish things during the day, get paid.  After spending day after day wearing pj’s or sweats all day, cleaning house and talking to the dog (or myself), his life looks pretty glamorous.
  4. When I was in the 6th grade, I mailed a fan letter to Leonardo DiCaprio through one of those Teen Beat magazines.  And if that wasn’t embarrassing enough, I included a picture of myself.  And the only picture I could find was my softball picture!  I remember thinking it was odd at the time, but still sent it in.  Oh my – how embarrassing!!
  5. I’m a control freak to the 1000th degree.  I must have complete control of myself and my actions at all time.  This is one of the reasons why I don’t like alcohol.  I want to control myself!
  6. I was scared of the dark well into my 20s.  After a night-light became too “young” for me, I just kept a television on (on mute) to keep light in the room.  Now I can’t sleep if there is light in the room.  But that fear stuck with me for a long time!
  7. I’m not ticklish.  I never have been.  If people try to tickle me, it’s just incredibly annoying and feels like they are poking me.  It definitely does not give me the giggles!
  8. I have 2 major addictions: diet Sunkist and chapstick.  While in Paris, I was surprised at how well I did without my Diet Sunkist.  But I love it and crave it most of the time.  And I always, always have a chapstick near by or in a pocket.  I can’t live without it.
  9. I’m a closet perfectionist.  I don’t think people would think this of me when they meet me (though maybe they do – not sure).  I don’t like to do anything I know I can’t do well.  If I can’t do something, it drives me nuts.  I stay calm outwardly, but really it kills me on the inside.  I have thoughts of having to obsessively practice until I get it right.  Luckily I’ve never done that, but it definitely eats at me when I am not perfect at something.
  10. I hate shaving my legs!  Luckily I have blonde hair and can get away with not shaving more-so than others, but there are times when I really need to shave and I opt to wear pants just to avoid doing it.  It’s kinda gross!
Leave a Reply

