The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

I ate it, again

on April 4, 2014

Hi ladies and gentleman!

I’m procrastinating with my studies, so I decided to pop online and type up a little blog.  Because, well, I have to make a confession.

I did it again with the Banana Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip bread.  I took it out of the freezer and twenty minutes later I was digging into it with a fork.  I have no idea how much I ate, just that I ate it a few hours ago and I’m still feeling a bit stuffed.  That’s not a good sign!

I’m beginning to think this is more emotional eating instead of being tired eating.  Sometimes I have a hard time figuring out the difference.  But I am burned out right now and feeling a bit lonely, so it’s probably causing me to give into temptation more than I should.

Maybe_I_Ate_All_The_Marshmallows

Unfortunately, in my disgust with my lack of self-control, I threw away the rest of the bread.  I would have much rather just froze it again and kept it in there for a while, not giving into temptation and not wasting food either.  But, you know that feeling of disgust when you overeat?  It can be pretty powerful.  And when you’re overeating is due to negative emotions, then that disgust gets that much worse.

We all overeat from time to time.  And as women, we all (or almost all) have emotional eating episodes.  It’s not a great thing, but it’s not the worst thing in the world either.  I would much rather I eat too much cake than shut myself in my room and become a depressed lump on the bed for several days, or say harsh words to others, or so many other things.  But for some reason the cake is what makes me feel disgust more than anything else.  Maybe it’s the fact that there is the physical feeling of over-fullness that stays with you for quite a while.  And I’m sure a big part of it is vanity.

Instead, when I overeat, I need to realize this is a sign I need to talk to someone, make a change, or figure out a way to deal with a stressor in my life.  I need to recognize that something is wrong and I need to fix it (or else the overindulgence will continue).  Even if it’s just typing to you all lovely readers about what is bothering me (whether I publish it or not).  I need to find a way to get it out instead of shoving it in.  And when I do shove it in, I need to let it go and focus on what’s really important.  Not the extra calories (and how in the world am I going to burn them off), but the reason behind the eating.

So next time you overeat, try not to beat yourself up.  You are human, not perfection.  And trust me, an indulgence every now and then is not going to wreck your world or your body.  Instead, ask yourself what made you want to indulge?  Is something stressing you out?  Are you missing someone?  Are you excited about something (yes, there is positive emotional eating)?  Are you feeling lost or scared?  There is a reason, and once you recognize this, you will be able to go along a journey of fixing the reason, and voila – the urge to eat an entire carton of ice cream will disappear.

If you are wondering what type of Banana Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip bread can make me go nuts and eat like a madwoman, then check out this recipe from Cinnamon Spice & Everything Nice.  Just don’t be surprised when half of it is gone in a day!

And if you need something to make you smile, check out this video of Kristen Bell singing a song from Frozen.  I have had a girl crush on Kristen Bell since Veronica Mars, and this video is just too cute!

2 responses to “I ate it, again

  1. Amen! I struggle with this too. After finally recognizing that I eat when I’m stressed I started stopping, recognizing the emotion and figuring out a way to deal with it other than by eating. Sometimes I write, sometimes I take a walk, etc. Great advice! And you are so right-we can’t beat ourselves up! Onward and upward!

Leave a Reply

