The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

Exercise and Snacking

on March 20, 2014

It’s the start of March Madness and I’m excited!  This time of year always means sunshine, warmth, flowers and fun!  And yes, I’m refusing to believe that it’s actually going to be winter weather again next week.  If I think it’s going to be warm, it’ll be warm, right?

I wanted to jump on here and give you guys an update on my progress.

I went to the chiropractor on Tuesday.  He did some adjustments (and made the scary noises!), stretched me out fabulously, gave me some nice e-stim for pain and a good massage.  I left feeling like a new woman, so loose and relaxed!  I wish I could get stretched out and massaged every single day!  That would be a great life!

He gave me a bunch of hip stretches to do and so far I’m doing pretty good with keeping up with my stretching.  Even though the one’s he gave me add an minimum of 6 minutes before and after my routine to complete (in addition to my normal stretching routine), I’ve been doing it.  It’s funny how time (or lack thereof) can make you take lesser care of yourself.  Really, our priority should be taking care of ourselves!  What a demanding world we live in, right?

And the best news was I was cleared for exercise.  I am taking it slow and working on stretching, strengthening and slowly getting back into high impact exercises.  I don’t want to overdue it and be right back where I started with lots of pain and nerve impingement.

Right now I’m alternating strength sessions, doing legs every other day and then the day between legs focusing on either arms or core.  Then I’m alternating low impact versus high impact cardio.  And right now the high impact is mixed with a lot of low impact.  I spent maybe 5 minutes yesterday jumping in my workout.  But it did make me really sweat for the first time in weeks!  That felt great!  Here’s the high impact video I did.  It’s a fun HIIT routine from Jessica Smith.

http://youtu.be/_6sbiVRYsGE

After I buy a new pair of running shoes, I’m going to start slowly running again.  I’m thinking something like a couch to 5K program.  Even though my endurance can run a 5K, I need to follow a plan that keeps the impact lower at the start and let my body adjust to the impact.  I’ll do some research on a plan this week and share with you guys what I find.

And my challenge of the week.  My update is a very happy one.

Snack wise I’ve been doing great!  Tuesday I only ate one snack in the afternoon, some yogurt and a banana.  That held me to dinner.  Yay!

Yesterday I had half of a yogurt and fruit smoothie in the afternoon, but had to break down and have a piece of string cheese before dinner since I was hungry.  So I didn’t limit myself to one snack, but they were both healthy so that makes me happy.

And today is the only day I’ve used one of my craving allowances.  I had no more than a tablespoon of natural peanut butter with half an apples as my snack.  It was very tasty!  I have not broken into the cracker bin or candy jar.  So proud of myself!

I do notice that I think about what I’m going to eat with this challenge so much more than I expected.  Normally if I got hungry I’d just go get some crackers, a piece of dark chocolate, a spoonful of peanut butter, or whatever was easy.  But now I open the pantry, see all the crackers and pass them by for a piece of fruit instead.  This challenge has also made me realize that I need to purchase more snacks in my healthy snack categories.  I can’t wait until our local farmer’s market opens in April!  Healthy fruit and veggies galore!

Leave a Reply

