The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

A Lesson and a Challenge

on March 17, 2014

So after 3 days of writing down every single bite of food I put into my mouth, I learned a few things about my eating habits.  And although none of these came as a huge surprise to me, it does emphasize where my unhealthy eating habits lie.  So the lessons I learned from my activity are:

  • I tend to eat more in the afternoon/evening.  I am good at avoiding the grazing in the earlier parts of the day, but as my energy dies down in the afternoon, I’m more likely to grab a few bites of this and that to keep me going.
  • My snacks are usually unplanned and unhealthy.
  • And I tend to give in to cravings.

What can I do to better my eating habits?  Well, that’s a great question!  And that brings me to my Challenge for the Week.  It’s a two-parter.

Part 1: Plan my snack for the afternoon to consist of healthy, filling and energizing foods.

Based off of what I have on hand now, my snack options can be:

  • a piece of fruit and string cheese
  • baby carrots and hummus
  • a smoothie made with fresh fruits, vegetables and/or yogurt.
  • a Luna bar or another nutritious homemade bar

I’m not going to plan the timing of my snacks, but just eat them when I get hungry, and see how that works.  But I want to make sure I’m not snacking on crackers and chips all the time.  While I enjoy them, they do not fill me up, give me energy or have anything really nutritious in them.

Part 2:  Have a cravings allowance.

It’s not great to always give in to cravings.  The more sugar you have, the more you crave.  (Same goes for salty treats.)  So by always giving in to my chocolate, peanut butter or chip craving, I’m really just feeding the monster.

However, I enjoy these foods and do not want to eliminate them from my diet.  I just want to manage how much and how often I consume them.

So, I’m giving myself a craving allowance.  I’m going to allow myself to give into my cravings 3 times this week max.  Once for chocolate/candy, once for chips/crackers and once for peanut butter.  This will allow me to enjoy my favorite high calorie foods, but not let them run or ruin my diet.

The challenge officially beings now!  I’ll keep you updated on my progress.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day everyone!

clover

 

Leave a Reply

