The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

What I ate day 2 and low impact HIIT

on March 15, 2014

You ever have one of those days where you are just a bit off?  My dog had one of those yesterday!  It started with a cat.  Well, a statue of a cat.  On our very long morning walk, she spotted a statue of a cat in a yard, nestled under a bush.  She was pulling and pulling towards the “cat” so I decided to let her check it out.

care

That probably wasn’t the best idea.  After scratching and biting (yes, she bit a statue), and endless sniffing around, she was so confused and worked up.  I had to drag her away from it and she was not happy.  The rest of the walk she seemed a bit off, confused by the looks like a cat but not a cat incident.  Poor thing!

8am, breakfast:

breakfast

1/2 smoothie with ingredients I need to use up:

  • 1 pear
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • two big handfuls of kale
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

It wasn’t that bad.  Not very sweet.

1 packet instant cream of wheat

1 small yogurt

I tried my best to keep up with this low intensity HIIT workout from Jessica Smith.  Though I didn’t break a sweat, my heart rate definitely increased.  I am still trying not to bend over and squat too much to rest my back, so some of the moves weren’t fully done to their potential.  But I love the idea of this and can’t wait until I can do it to the fullest!

Lunch 12pm, not hungry (fought off hunger pangs at 10am) but felt like eating

caroline

1/2 bbq chicken quesadilla

other 1/2 smoothie

snack, 3pm, peckish: banana oatmeal cookie

Snack at 3:00pm, 2 triscuits (just needed a little bit of salt and I saw them as I opened the pantry to get a drink)

Snack #2 at 4:00pm, a bunch of baby carrots (I didn’t count, I would guess about 12-15) and hummus (1.5 tablespoons)

Dinner, 6:45pm: Pei Wei Roasted Vegetable Salad, 1/2 pork eggroll and a fortune cookie

Snack, 8:30pm: 100 calorie Chobani yogurt, banana cookie with pill (I wanted a bunch of chocolate so I was proud to just eat that!)

All in all, I would estimate a total calorie count of 1450.  Much better than the previous day for sure.  And even though I was starving at dinner, I made the right choice with the salad over the highly caloric rice dishes.  It was tasty and filling.  Pat on the back for Ashley!

Leave a Reply

