The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

Food Diary and Strong Arms

on March 14, 2014

So at the start of day 2 of my food diary, and I’m already tired of it.  I really hate writing down what I eat.  It’s not the surprise of my daily calorie intake that gets to me.  I’m actually fairly aware of what and how much I eat.  It’s just the taking the time to write it down that bothers me.  I’ve started writing myself emails every time I eat, which takes the pain out of it a bit.  But not a ton.

So here’s a recap of what I ate yesterday:

8am Breakfast:

thurs bf

Spinach, Egg White, Oatmeal and Cinnamon pancake topped with app. 1 tbsp. of peanut butter.  This pancake is inspired by Peanut Butter Fingers.  It’s an acquired taste and at first I didn’t like it, but I’ve played with the recipe so much I’ve acquired a taste for it and eat a version of it several times a week.
small vanilla yogurt
glass of water

hungry, feeling satisfied when done

12:30 Lunch: leftover turkey-apricot meatballs (3) with about 2 tablespoons of leftover quinoa flavored with apricot-yogurt mixture (I used quinoa instead of basmati rice because that’s what I had on hand).
1/4 cup leftover broccoli slaw
8 carrots with hummus
banana/oatmeal cookie

hungry, not my first choice for food but needed to eat the leftovers or else I would need to throw them out.  Feeling full but not as satisfied – craving something sweet/chocolatey to end the meal.  Must fight feeling!

3:35pm – 1/2 banana. kinda peckish and tired.

5:00pm – 4 triscuit thin crisps.  Feeling nauseated so I needed a little salt to settle my stomach.

5:40pm – 1 Tostitos Restaurant style tortilla chips.  My husband came home and started snacking on them so I grabbed one.  It’s an improvement, usually I would have eaten several.  So yay for only 1 chip!  I was hungry.

6:20pm – Noodles & Company small whole grain linguine (husband was in charge of dinner, so take out it was 🙂 )
heated up some frozen broccoli bits for extra veggies, diced some grape tomatoes and added about 1/4 cup of Tyson pre-cooked grilled chicken.
side of low carb whole grain bread with a tad of butter (small piece)
1/2 graham cracker for dessert
I was pretty hungry when I started but finished full and satisfied.

8:30pm – 1 Chobani yogurt and 11 Reese’s Pieces.  I take medicine at 8:30 which requires food.  I usually just eat a yogurt but was craving something sweet so I grabbed some Reese’s Pieces that were left over from my cookie adventure the other day.  I wasn’t hungry, just craving sweetness.

So in total, my guesstimate is about 1750 calories.  Not horrible, but not great either.  I’m happy for the most part with my food choices.  (Did you know just ONE Reese’s Pieces has 11 calories!!  Just one itsy bitsy piece!)  I do have changes to be made, but I will save the full analysis for when project food diary is over on Sunday.

I did do some exercising yesterday as well.  After a 50 minute walk with my dog (we walk at a fairly brisk pace), I came home and did a few low impact cardio sessions and some arm strengthening.

My arm workout started with this Fitnessblender video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oUychjqfO8I

I only did one round because I was afraid my back when get too tired doing two rounds of these dynamic movements.  Gotta save the back!

I followed it with this arm video from PopSugar.  I’ve done it before and it’s a real burner for your biceps and triceps!  I changed the triceps kickbacks to overhead triceps presses since those seem to be easier on my low back.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4pcaD3wInqM

Those two arm videos were great and gave me the feeling of accomplishment I needed for the day!

Until tomorrow, stay fit and happy everyone!

Leave a Reply

