The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

Cake, Icing and Happiness

on February 25, 2014

Today I want to share with you some of the things I’ve done recently that make me happy.  I want to do this because truly I don’t feel too happy and I need to remind myself of some good things in life. 

Not to rant, but I’m overly frustrated with my medical care (or lack thereof) right now.  I won’t go into details, but I feel like there’s very few trustworthy doctors out there right now.  I’m wasting my time and money to what it seems like only padding their wallets, schedules, etc.  And for some reason I’m going nuts over this – almost pure anxiety attack nuts. 

When I overreact to certain things, I know it’s because other things are bothering me.  And I don’t want to go down that deep, dark road right now, but my guess is I’m bored and stressed at the same time, and over the same things oddly enough.  Time for a change – and I think I know what.  I’m just scared to make the leap.  I should though.  I know I should.  Be Brave, right!

Ok, back to the happy things.

One thing that always makes me happy is when a cooking experiment goes well for me.  I was watching an episode of Unique Sweets the other day.  Have you ever seen that show??  So much fun, but beware, you will want to eat every sweet thing in a 20 mile radius while watching it.

They did a profile on a rice cereal treat store.  They were making these awesome variations of the classic rice crispy treat, including chocolate-mint, PB&J, and birthday cake.  I’ve seen some of these recipes on pinterest and that episode got my taste buds going, so I set off to make some birthday cake rice crispy treats.

My pin had just the ingredient list, no instructions.  So I took the ingredients and decided to come up with my own cooking method.   And it worked!!

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cups rice cereal
  • 3 oz (or about 1/4 bag) of mini marshmallows
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 3/8 cup of boxed yellow cake mix
  • 3 tbsp. butter
  1. Melt the butter in a heavy bottom pot over low heat.
  2. Add cake mix and stir together until completely incorporated.
  3. Add marshmallows and mix until marshmallows have melted and are incorporated into butter/cake mix.
  4. Add vanilla extract and stir.
  5. Turn off heat and add rice cereal and mix until well combined.
  6. Place in a loaf pan covered with parchment paper and allow to set.

You can make buttercream icing to put on this, but I’m a cake, not an icing girl.  Icing is too sweet.  Cake has just the right amount of sweetness and depth for me!

I’m actually munching on a treat while I type this.  It really does taste like cake!!

Other happiness:

  • After ranting in an email to the hubby (who is at work), he made a special trip to the store and brought me some of my favorite candy to cheer me up!
  • Lovely warm and sunny weather – though snow is in the forecast for next week.  From snow to 70s to snow, what a winter, right??
  • Watching the American snowboarders celebrate Alex Deibold’s bronze medal run at Snowboard Cross.  It was just so cute!!
  • Finally getting a good rhythm in my fitness routine.  It’s tough starting back and I’m huffing and puffing through my workouts that normally aren’t quite as tough for me, but at least I’m doing it!

 

Leave a Reply

