The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

The bright side and an at home workout

on February 4, 2014

What a yucky day!  Grey skies, cold temperatures and that “not quite raining” wet feel outside.  Boo!  After a few days of bright spring weather, it really burns when this yucky winter weather comes back.

And to add to the yuckiness, my husband has been on a snoring spree.  He’s not a loud snorer – I’ve heard some doozies in my lifetime (my brother in particular can be heard on the other side of the house!).  He is nowhere near that level.  But I tend to be a light sleeper.  So his normal level snoring has been keeping me up 2-3 nights a week.  Last night I actually went into our guest bedroom to sleep.  And since I don’t wash the sheets and vacuum the bed in there until after we have guests, the dust mites were a plenty.  Hello congestion today!

But I do my best to keep positive – even though this day is screaming for negativity!  After all, it’s just some congestion, just some fatigue.  Things could be sooo much worse for me!  I really have nothing to complain about except the fact that I get to live a mostly happy, ordinary life.

eeyore

That thought gets you off your keester, though it may be a bit slower than if I had a good night’s sleep.

I made up my own workout today since I was not feeling like driving the 30 minutes to the gym where I found a Beginner’s Yoga class.  Since I didn’t meet my weekly challenge today, I decided to work on some of my February fitness goals.  And the beauty of this workout is you can do it at home, with no equipment (or weights if you got ’em), and can do it all in front of the TV!  I watched an episode of Mad About You while doing this workout.  I am so happy that show is on syndication again.  So witty!

After a warm-up (the details of my warm-up are listed at the end of this blog post), I started into some weight training.

Round 1 (complete 2 times, on the second round I did one-sided if applicable):

  • 10 Squats / 1 leg Squats (10 each side)
  • 10 Deadlifts / 1 leg deadlift (10 each side)
  • 15 push-ups
  • 15 shoulder presses

Round 2 (complete 2 times, on the second round I did one-sided if applicable)

  • 10 forward lunges left, 10 forward lunges right (second round did backward lunges)
  • 10 side steps left, 10 side steps right (can do leg lifts if you do not have a band to do side steps)
  • 15 bicep curls
  • 15 reverse flies

Round 3 (complete 2 times)

  • 10 Sumo Squats (on the second round I added an inner thigh lift on the sumo squat)
  • 10 calf raises / 10 single leg calf raises each side
  • 15 band lat pull downs (can do rows if you do not have a band)
  • 15 triceps overhead presses

Then I did a nice long stretch, and voila – 30 minutes and done!  Plus I added in some of my upper body and flexibility goals.  Mini victory for me!

And as for the yoga challenge, I have officially signed up at a class at a local gym just a few miles down the road.  I’ve paid the class dues and everything, so I’m going to a beginner’s level yoga class on Friday.  I’m nervous but hoping this really helps me relax and stretch!  I’ve been an anxious mess these past few days!

 

Warm Up:

  • 10 marches
  • 10 side to side steps
  • 10 front to back steps left leg leading
  • 10 front to back steps right leg leading
  • 10 knee raises
  • 10 front leg kicks

Then I kicked it up a notch for 2 rounds of:

  • 10 boxer shuffles
  • 10 side to side steps with a slight squat
  • 10 front to back steps left leg leading in a slight squat
  • 10 front to back steps right leg leading in a slight squat
  • 10 skipping knee raises
  • 10 skipping front leg kicks

For the final push to make sure I was warm, I did 1 round of this:

  1. 10 high knees
  2. 10 skater jumps
  3. 10 pulsing lunges right
  4. 10 pulsing lunges left
  5. 10 high knees
  6. 10 fast skipping front leg kicks
2 responses to “The bright side and an at home workout

  1. healthaddict00 says:

    That sounds like a great workout! I misses my Wednesday workout sadly due to some unforeseen things. I’m going to aim to do it tonight but who knows, tonight I have things to do as well.

Leave a Reply

