The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

Challenge of the Week: Attend a Yoga Class

on February 3, 2014

I have been attempting to get back into my fitness routine, but have found that my health scares have been holding me back.  And since my word for 2014 is BRAVE, I really can’t let my fear of becoming ill again hold me back.  I take care of myself and take precautions to keep from becoming ill, and that’s all I can do.  I can’t hide in my little bubble I’ve created for myself.  That just leads to frustration, boredom and perhaps a bit of depression.

try new things

I have been told over and over and over again that I need to try yoga.  I’m an active person.  I hate stretching, sitting still, being patient.  Plus, I suffer from anxiety so my nerves get a real shock to the system when I must be still instead of productive.

Which really is exactly why I need to do yoga.  To teach myself it’s ok to relax and to relish in it.  This will greatly help my anxious personality!

Even though I know this, I’ve been avoiding classes for years.  I have done the occasional at-home routine, but never even attempted an outside class where I could get feedback, guidance and (gasp!) help with my poses.  (And the at-home routines I do are never more than 20 minutes – the max I can stand being still.)

So an hour long class is daunting, but I need to try it.  I want to try it.  I really do.  But I’m scared.

So, I have 3 classes written down on a piece of paper.  They are each a beginner class that lasts for around an hour at a local gym.

My challenge this week is to attend at least one of these classes.

My stomach is actually in knots right now as I write this.  Is that insane???  You’d think I challenged myself to strip naked in front of 100 strangers or something.

Wish me luck!  I really hope I don’t chicken out!!

Leave a Reply

