The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

The habits of dogs

on January 24, 2014

We all know I am a dog person.  And I absolutely adore my pup.

IMG_0055

Isn’t she just so cute??

Even though I unconditionally love her (as she does me), I will also be the first to admit she has some weird habits.

One of her oddest behaviors (for a dog) was demonstrated on our walk yesterday morning.

Dogs greet each other by sniffing each others behinds.  This is pretty common knowledge for even non-dog people and the butt (ha-ha!) of many dog jokes.

But my pup HATES it when other dogs sniff her rear and will do anything to keep them from doing so.

Yesterday she met a friendly dog who was in training.  The owner asked if the two dogs could meet so he could get her practice on being calm in doggy social situations.  My 13-year-old pup is very calm with other dogs, so it was no problem.

And the dog-in-training did great.  They sniffed each others muzzles and were fine.  Then came the test.  The dog-in-training made a move for the rear.  My little cutie did her normal defensive stance.  She basically cuts the other dog off in her tracks so she can not reach the rear.  It’s a bit of an aggressive move, but the other dog was fine.  She tried a few more times to go for the rear, but mine did her trademark “no” move, and they settled on sniffing each others faces.

I know I’m not alone in having a dog with different habits.  Here are a few posts I found that touch on the topic.

Eko’s spa day (and a description of his petting needs)

Dirty dog habits by Taylor Grace (dogs and their fascination with toilet water)

Is Your Dog Crazy? 15 Nutty Behaviors Explained by CBSNews

One response to “The habits of dogs

  1. Thank you for the mention!

Leave a Reply

