The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

Defining Me

on January 2, 2014

Who am I?  This is an easy yet incredibly difficult question to answer.  In an interview, the line “tell me about yourself” always throws me for a loop.  I always answer talking a bit about my educational background, a tad about my work background and skills, and then some things I enjoy doing work-related and a few hobbies.  Just a maybe three or four sentences to reiterate “who I am” as an employee.  But it always makes me think how I would describe myself in three to four sentences as a person.

Right now, I guess I would say:

I am married, work part-time in the pet care industry, and adore spending time with my husband and dog.  I am a pretty avid gym go-er, enjoy baking and reading.  I love to travel, watch college basketball and football (NFL and college), and sleep!

But does that really sum me up?  I feel like it’s not complete, even though that pretty much defines my day-to-day life.  I guess that’s the main reason I started this blog.  To get a better sense of self.  To be able to answer that question with authority, not doubtingly.  To encourage me to break out of my comfort zone, try new things, and fill in the gaps of what I feel is missing.

That sounds a bit sad, but it’s not.  It’s exciting!  Even at 33, you can still work to find yourself and better your life.  This is hopeful.

I’m sure there will be days when I write about a fun workout, a great baked good or dinner, a book I love or the adventures of my little family, and that’s fine.  I want to enjoy those aspects of my life and share that.  I also want to share my journey of adding more love, joy and adventure into my life.  And maybe I can inspire someone else, if not just me.

Leave a Reply

