The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

The Resolutions

on January 1, 2014

Did you do your assignment from yesterday?  I spent about 10 minutes just typing away to the questions and then mulled them over for a good bit of time after that.  Here’s what I found:

  1. Some questions were easier to answer than others.  I love my husband and am happy in my relationship with him.  I love my city.  I have had some great moments over 2013 and can easily put those in my “brings me joy” category.  So that’s great and I need to keep doing those things that make me happy.
  2. Other questions were hard to answer.  Sources of anxiety for example.  I’m a fairly anxious person so just because something causes me anxiety doesn’t mean it’s bad for me.  And then living up to my expectations, does anybody?  And does this mean that your expectations are too high or your actions are too low?
  3. From 2, you can glean that I probably over thought and wrote down reasons as to why it’s ok if I’m not answering the questions properly.  That probably wasn’t the intention of the exercise Gretchen Rubin gave us.

But the things that are lacking from my life are very evident.

An atmosphere of growth and mastery.  I read and I guess fitness can be a sense of mastery to a point (finishing a 5K, doing a mud run, etc.).  But that’s all I have.  My job does not require any critical thinking.  Home care really doesn’t either, unless there’s a closet that needs organizing or a stain that needs to come out.  So I am definitely missing the mental challenge part of life.

Socially I need to do some major work!  My husband and I are also best friends, so it’s easy for us to just be comfortable with each other and not think of the outside world of many, many people.  But I do miss having a close friend.  This has been a “goal” of mine for a while, and I need to put more work into it for sure.

I used to be a very spiritual person, but that has drifted away too much.  My husband is not overly spiritual, so I think that part of him rubbed off on me, when it should be the other way around.  I want to work on regaining my spirituality.

And to combine the social and spiritual, I want to give back to the community more.

Time Management.  What I wrote of my frustrations often involved my feelings that I don’t have enough time to do what I want, when really I do.  I like my routine, and when I have to change that, I feel all out of sorts and rushed.  For example, if I have work pop up at a time I usually workout, then I feel like I can’t workout that day because of time, when in reality I can workout, just at a different time.  That’s when time management skills would really help me.  And if my time management is better, than perhaps my frustrations will ease.  This may also include more skills than time management (self management and anxiety control).

So that’s what I want to focus on in 2014:

  • Finding something that is mentally challenging
  • Make friends
  • Regain my spirituality
  • Give back to the community
  • Time Management and Anxiety Management skills

Now on to finding ways to make these goals happen.   Perhaps that will be my focus in January, coming up with plans for the above resolutions.  Because goodness knows January is the time that volunteer organizations are booked up, gyms are packed, and all self-help books are sold out.  February may be the best month for action, and with a plan in hand, I’ll have a better chance for success.

What are your New Year’s Resolutions?

Leave a Reply

