The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

Greek Yogurt Blueberry Bundt Cake

on December 30, 2013

I feel like I’ve been writing the same “I’m back” blog post over and over and over again.  Though this time WordPress had disappeared from my most recently visited websites list, so I’ve been gone a long time!

Brief explanation: still dealing with health issues.  And as we all know, when health turns south, you spend your time focusing on healing and doing what you need to survive (i.e. work, eat, sleep).  And since I’m a private person and all my thoughts were consumed with my health issues, blogging was pretty far from my mind.  And while I’m still “on the mend”, I’ve decided to focus on other things in my life instead of illness.  Things that bring me joy.  And blogging is one of those things.  So here goes nothing!

Another thing that brings me joy is baking.  I love it!  I love searching for the perfect recipe or inspiration for a recipe, buying the ingredients, creaming together butter and sugar, adding in flour and miraculously making a dough that tastes delicious on its own, and then popping it in the oven, having the house smell insanely terrific, and then producing a delectable baked good.  It’s a wonder I’m not 500 pounds as much as I love to bake!  It’s just a pure pleasure for me.

I’ve been looking at a lot of recipes lately.  And as my freezer is becoming unbearably full with frozen berries of every kind (I tend to forget if I have these on hand, so I buy them up and soon they take over my freezer!), I need to use up some ingredients before freezer burn takes over.

Today I happened upon a recipe for a blueberry cake.  It wasn’t anything overly difficult and used boxed cake mix, Greek yogurt and frozen blueberries.  But the recipe seemed a bit off to me.  Have you ever looked at a recipe and thought, that doesn’t seem like it would work at all?  And in fact, one of the comments said it didn’t work for the baker.  So I made a variation, which is actually healthier and turned out yummy.

I still used the box cake mix.  Every now and then, give your measuring cups a break and use a mix.  There’s no shame in that!

And with most recipes, I cut it in half.  It’s just me and the husband here, and if I made an entire cake, I would have ended up freezing most of it, which would have defeated the freezer cleaning purpose.  So I just used half the ingredients.

But instead of using all the cake box ingredients (oil, water, and eggs), I substituted the Greek yogurt for the oil.  Then I did as you do with any cake mix, blended it together and mixed it on medium speed for about 2 minutes.

Next, I folded in some of my frozen blueberries.  I only made a small dent in my freezer stock, but you have to start somewhere!  I also added a bit of lemon zest into the batter for an extra umph.  I love citrus zest!

I poured the batter into a bundt pan and baked for 30 minutes at 350 degrees.  *Note, I used a mini bundt pan, timing may be different depending on the size of your pan.

And voila!  Even though my cooling rack made little dents in the top of the cake, I think it’s still pretty cute.  I tasted it before I took a picture and it was light, fluffy and yummy.

mini blueberry bundt cake

Blueberry Lemon Mini Bundt Cake

  • 1/2 box of yellow cake mix
  • 1/3 cup of plain nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup of water
  • 1/2 cup frozen or fresh blueberries
  • 1/2 tsp of lemon zest
  1. Combine the cake mix, Greek yogurt, egg and water in a medium-sized bowl.  Mix together until combined.
  2. Using a handheld mixer, beat on medium speed for 2 minutes.
  3. Carefully fold in blueberries and lemon zest.
  4. Spray cooking spray on a mini bundt pan, add batter into the pan and even out the top as best as you can.
  5. Cook at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

 

Leave a Reply

