The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

End of the year musings

on November 18, 2013

So Monday is here, again.  But this Monday isn’t so bad.  Yes, I do have to work.  But the sun is out (we haven’t seen the sun in quite a while!), the weather is warm, I’m finally starting to feel healthy again, and there’s Monday Night Football.  Go Panthers!

But I have noticed that November is going by super-fast.  Is it that way for you too?  I can’t believe that Thanksgiving is NEXT WEEK!  Pretty soon it will be Christmas, then New Years, and all of a sudden there’s a whole brand new year ahead of us.

During this time I get a little introspective (like I’m not normally, right?).  I look back on the year and think of the good times and yes, the bad times too.  But I like to look at the bad times in a different manner than you might think.  I don’t relive the moments and get myself upset over the past.  It took me many, many years to realize that’s just not good for me.  I like to look back and see my reactions and why I acted that way.  Was I acting out of anger, out of frustration, out of jealousy?  And then think about how I could have better communicated those feelings to avoid a silly fight, lots of tears, and get closure quickly.

I will admit, I was overly emotional at times this year.  When I get too many stressors in my life, I tend to go a little coo-coo.  I have a hard time juggling all the different emotions and demands, and get overwhelmed, sad and angry all at once.  It’s not a pretty picture.  But I’m learning that I need to not put too much stress on myself, ask for help, and that things don’t have to be perfect.  It’s a process, but I’m doing much better at everything.  I knew this week could be challenging for me, so I let my husband know and he’s volunteering to help out with cooking dinners, etc. more this week so I don’t have to worry about that.  Teamwork is great!

My introspection also leads me to “plan out” the next year in my head.  Now, I’m not going into a detailed plan or anything, but I do like to have goals and rough ideas of when I’d like to accomplish these goals.  Right now I don’t have too much on my “goal” list.  The word goal sounds wrong, because one of the items on my list is pregnancy.  I guess that is a goal, but I’m so used to using goal in fitness and sports terms, that it sounds wrong.  And I’m just trying to figure out what I want to do before baby.  I know I’ve shared with you some baby bucket list items, but I really want to make sure I’m ok and ready to go.  Maybe this is normal – the fear that you are forgetting to do something pre-pregnancy.  But I’m sure when the time is right, that list won’t matter to me one bit.

I’m also an organizational freak right now.  I like things to work efficiently and I tend to organize and re-organize a lot.  I’ve worked on drawers, shelves, closets and I’m even going so far as to re-organizing my Pinterest boards.  When I get in a mood, I really go all in.  I just hope I finish all my projects before my organizational zeal leaves me!

Do you get introspective at the end of the year?

One response to “End of the year musings

  1. […] End of the year musings (coldpenguin227.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

