The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

Finding your voice

on November 14, 2013

As I enter the 14th day of NaBloPoMo, I realize that I’m not any closer to my goal when I began this challenge.  I wanted to find my voice.  I wanted to find some direction.  Maybe in life, but definitely in blogging.  I figured having to sit down and write every single day would somehow cosmically guide me to my true center.  But that hasn’t happened.  At least not yet.

All I have learned so far is that now every day I wait for something interesting to happen so I can share it with the few of you who take the time to read my posts.  I search high and low, always on alert, sometimes with camera ready, just to find a cute story, insightful point, or just something of interest to write about.

My normal life is quite routine, and not glamorous enough to make an interesting read.  I am like many other people out there.  I’m closing in on 34, married (with no children which I see is blogging gold for cute stories), a part time contractor in the pet care industry (which, lets face it, pets are routine as well) and just all around average gal.

I like fitness and workout most days, but do I want to share a workout routine with you every day?  While I like seeing other people’s routines and goals, I don’t know feel like writing about my routines every day.  Especially since my fitness routine can be very spastic and “un”-goal oriented.  I like to cook and bake, but really I just find recipes to try, maybe with a few tweaks, and if I like them I share them, if I don’t like them then I don’t write about it.  I’m not innovative in the kitchen.

I am not an expert on any subject.  I can share with you my tips on housework but I’ve gathered everything I’ve learned from other bloggers and websites.  So really, I find that my voice is a bit unoriginal in the blog world.

And as I write this, I’m ok with it.  Would I like to be an expert in something?  Maybe.  But it’s not a real desire for me.  Do I need to be the perfect cook?  No.  As long as I can make things people enjoy, I’m fine.  Do I need to be the best fitness trainer/blogger out there?  Absolutely not.  And I’m quite alright having a healthy, but not perfect, body.  I like cake, cookies and crackers way too much to give them up for a flatter stomach or thighs that don’t touch.  Besides, I like my body.  It’s taken me a long time, but I love my strong legs, my tiny waist, and my (cough, cough) tiny chest.  It’s me and I’m proud of it.

What I have realized going through this, is though I don’t have a clear blog voice, I am very happy being me.  I like my life.  I love my husband, my dog and I enjoy my job more than others I’ve had in the past (which is all we can really ask for, right?).  Most of the time I don’t mind doing housework or chores.  (I’m not superwoman so there are days where I just don’t do the dusting, run errands or even cook dinner because I’m just burned out).  At age 33, I’m happy with me.  I don’t have a strong or unique voice in cyberspace, but I have strong, unique and important voice in my life, and that’s all that matters.

So I guess I have learned something from this NaBloPoMo challenge after all.

Leave a Reply

