The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

When you can’t decide

on November 13, 2013

Maybe it’s the weather.  Maybe it’s the routine.  Maybe it’s the never-ending list of things I want and need to do that is going through my head.  Whatever it is, today I can’t make a decision to save my life!

So what do I do when I can’t make a decision?

Breakfast: do I want cereal and yogurt, waffles, an egg sandwich.  I have no real desires.  So my standby, protein pancakes.  It’s easy, healthy and I like it.  So that’s how I made my decision.

Then after a dentist appointment (yay – now is the longest period of time I have before another dentist appointment!), I force myself to go to the grocery store.  I didn’t want to and didn’t not want to, but we needed a few things for dinner tonight, so I had to go.

Lunch was another routine sandwich because, yep, I couldn’t make a decision so might as well go for the easiest.  I did have a slice of banana bread (cold!) as an after lunch treat.  YUM – that decision was easy!

Then a decision free break, work.  My decisions are easy at work – do what is right.  I don’t have that difficult of a job!  Ha!

Now I am home with an overwhelming list of things I can do.  I want to bake, but should I bake now?  Do I take the dog out for her walk while the sun is still shining and it’s in the 40s instead of 20s?  Do I rest and watch tv?  Do I do some chores?  I can’t decide.

So, my go to decision was read while the Food Network is on in the background.  I am about a quarter of a way through Allegiant (the last book of the Divergent series) and it is just starting to get good.  I read an article before that said if you liked the Hunger Games, you’d like the Divergent series.  And they are right!  I really enjoyed the Hunger Games trilogy, and the Divergent series is just as good.  The only complaint I have is that when I went to download the book to my Google Nexus, the purchase page showed book reviews.  And wouldn’t you know that the reviews it showed told the books ending!  AGH!  I was so upset and it made me not all that excited about reading the book.  But I bought it and slowly started reading it and now really enjoying it.  Even though I know the end, I don’t know the middle.  And of course the reviews being thrown in my face were not the books fault.

Do any of you read young adult lit?  The books I’ve read seem a little more adult than young adult.  Lots of murder, torture, mind games, etc.  Just because the main characters are teenagers doesn’t necessarily mean the book is appropriate for preteens.

Anyway, so here I am, writing this to keep up with NaBloPoMo, and not wanting to make a decision.

Decision Fairy, I need you!

decision dice

Leave a Reply

