The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

Baking Mo-Jo

on November 12, 2013

My dog has a special way of manipulating me to get what she wants.  She trembles.  And it’s not because she’s cold, uncomfortable, hungry or anything else.  If you don’t look directly at her and just watch her through your peripheral vision, she won’t shake.  But once you turn your eyes in her directions, she begins shaking.  It’s total manipulation.  But it works on me like a charm.  I can’t stand to see her tremble!  So she just got her second treat of the day (I’ve started breaking them in half so she won’t get too many calories in) and is happily lying on her bed now.

dog

I know you can’t tell she’s trembling in a picture, but trust me she is.  And look at those eyes – such desperation.  There’s no way you can say no to that face!

I haven’t baked in a long time, so today I decided to break out of my baking rut and get my baking mo-jo going again.  The three overripe bananas I had on my counter were begging to be made into banana bread.  So as I type this a loaf of yummy banana chocolate chip bread is in the oven.  (I hope it turns out well.  I’ll wait to publish this until I have taste-tested it.)

I’m a little out of sync with my baking, which is not great since it’s baking season.  I didn’t soften the butter enough so the eggs and butter never blended well.  And then there was butter stuck to the bottom of my mixer bowl.  If it turns out well, the bright side will be there’s less butter (fewer calories) in the bread.  If not, then I’ll try to figure out a way to salvage it, even if it’s just smearing it with peanut butter to eat it.  I can’t stand throwing away food!

But either way, my baking skills are a little low right now.  So I’m hoping to bake something every day this week to help sharpen them up.  Here are a few of my ideas:

Cookies with some of the gazillion candy treats we have leftover from Halloween (not one single trick-or-treater this year!  Bummer!)

Cranberry scones.  They just scream holiday time to me.

Cinnamon Raisin bread.  I LOVE cinnamon raisin bread!

Some sort of carrot-cake type item.  I’m not sure what yet, but I have some carrots I need to use up.

Anyone have any favorite recipes to share?  I’m in a baking mood and when that happens, look out – there will be baked goods everywhere!

 

*I just had a slice of warm chocolate chip banana bread for my midday snack.  As a fan of cold banana bread, I must say I was impressed.  I don’t think the less than soft butter was a factor at all.  It looks as good as it tastes too!

banana bread

I put half of the bread in the fridge (I like it cold!) and the other half in the freezer (otherwise I’m eating a whole loaf of banana bread in a week!)

Leave a Reply

