The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

5 Ways to Rejuvenate

on November 10, 2013

I feel like I need a nice long vacation.  And since that’s not possible right now, I need to work on rejuvenation at home.  Do you take enough time out for yourself?  My guess is the answer is no, because in general none of us do.  We are a go-go-go society, and that constant going runs us down.  So what can we do to help build our bodies and minds back up when you don’t have the luxury of going to a spa or taking a nice long vacation?

  1. Take a long bath.  This is something I miss.  When we bought this house we knew the bathrooms needed to be redone.  They are all in perfect working order, but the bathtubs are less than inviting.  And I don’t think lying down in our “well-used” tubs will relax me at all.  I miss baths, so those of you who have nice bathtubs, please take a nice long bubble bath for me!
  2. Deep breathing.  For those of you who are like me and hate to sit still, this may sound a bit daunting and maybe even silly.  But it works.  While I haven’t jumped on the yoga bandwagon yet (though I’m sure I’d greatly benefit from it), taking 1 minute out to take deep breaths from your diaphragm (make sure your belly moves out on inhale, in on exhale) can really help calm you down.  I do this several times a day on my more stressful days.
  3. Self pep talks.  Another one of my favorite things to do on rough days.  Verbally remind yourself to calm down and that nothing terrible is or is going to happen if you are late, don’t get x, y or z done, etc.  After you talk yourself calm, then remind yourself to appreciate what is around you – whether you are driving though a lovely part of town, surrounded by loved ones, getting some much-needed alone time (even if it’s just in the car running errands) or helping others through your work (and yes every job has a purpose!)
  4. If talking to your self doesn’t help, call up a friend or relative who is a calming influence.  We all have people in our lives who we can complain with when things go wrong.  These are not the people to call when we need to relax, as the back and forth venting only causes more adrenaline and stress.  Call someone who can listen, put things in perspective and say the right things to put you at ease.
  5. Take care of yourself through diet and exercise.  Sometimes a good bout of exercise can help calm you down, whether you are power walking or lifting weights.  Getting out the extra energy and having time to calm the mind by focusing on you and not your problems helps me immensely.  Watching your diet helps as well.  Having a salad, a piece of fruit and yogurt, or a wholesome smoothie makes you feel healthy and powerful.  Avoiding caffeine and having a nice glass of water also helps your body and mind relax.

Positive-Affirmations-300x300

As a side note on the caffeine front, I feel I am improving on lessening my dependency on it.  I averaged 3.5 cans of diet soda a day (yikes!).  I have lessened my average daily intake of the unhealthy diet soda by 1 can, and next week my goal is to drink even less (at least half a can less but I’m going to try with 1 whole can less).  I feel this will be the harder week, but luckily my work week is light so that should help.

For even more ideas on how to rejuvenate, check out this article.

So there are my go-to areas for at-home, easy relaxation tips.  Does anyone else have any great suggestions?

Leave a Reply

