The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

Exercise Week in Review

on November 9, 2013

Yesterday I shared with you all the yummy recipes I made this week, so today I’m going to share with you some of the ways I burned all those calories off!

I’m really into group exercise classes at my local gym right now.  I have a favorite on Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday.  I love going in and not having to think about what to do, not having to actually mentally remind myself to push hard, but having someone else do all the thinking for me.  All I have to do is move!

But other days I’m on my own and it’s so hard to figure out what to do.  I’m slowly getting back into running, emphasis on slowly.  So other than slow, short runs, I need to get moving other ways.

That’s where my computer comes into play.  I find exercise videos online (for free!) that look challenging and go for it.  So here are a few of the videos I loved this past week.

By far, my favorite, was the FitnessBlender Ladder HIIT Workout.  I broke this workout up and have yet to try it all the way through (to see how I broke it up – check out this blog post).  But I’m going to try it straight through soon.  Wish me lots and lots of luck!!

If you are a fan of kickboxing, this short and sweet kickboxing video is for you.  It incorporates a variety of kicks and punches that get’s your body working hard.

And one of my favorite time crunch workouts is this Quick Sweat Cardio Workout by Fitnessblender.  It’s 45 seconds on, 15 seconds off of no-equipment cardio moves that gets you sweating and done in less than 9 minutes.  You gotta love that!

And since I hate cooling down as much as I hate coming up with my own routines (right now), then I follow-up with a great cool down such as this 5 minute cool down that stretches every major muscle group.

Happy Moving everyone!

Leave a Reply

