The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

Waiting for the Gold

on October 31, 2013

So it’s Day 2 of the journey, the official start day.  Day 1 is always filled with planning, strategizing, and organizing, but day 2 is action day.  And I guess there’s really not too much action going on as far as real changes.  I’m not a patient person.  I think of something I want, and I want it right then and there.  Now to be clear, I’m not a whiny, bratty or annoying.  I just get anxious, which is annoying in its own right, but still not as bad.

So I woke up today a little blah.  No real changes today.  Nothing to look forward to.  Yuck.

So I had to pep myself up with a little self talk.  You have to enjoy your day, right?  Even if you are not where you want to be, you still must enjoy your time.  And really, I have nothing to complain about with my life.  I just want something in addition to what I already have.  So that’s different from really wanting to change your whole life.  I still have great things going on!

Finding ways to enjoy my day is becoming a little difficult.  I have to talk to myself a lot, but that’s nothing new.  I am always telling myself to calm down, just take your time and enjoy the ride.

I’m also taking in the sights and taking pictures.  I find if I take pictures of things, I really enjoy the present moment.  It’s easy to look at something and your mind is somewhere else, but if you are looking for a cool picture, then you are in the moment.

I don’t do anything fancy, just my camera on my phone.  But here’s my photographic journey of walking my dog this morning.

HALLOWEEN Decorations!

Halloween Staircase

Halloween decor

A lot of people are into the big spiders in my neighborhood this year.  It’s always interesting to see what the new trend in decorations will be every year.

And the dog, with her nose stuck to the ground right now due to all the squirrels gathering their provisions for the winter.

dog sniffing

Really, her nose stays on the ground!!

Then off to exercise class.  TABATA Thursday!  Phew!  Ok, here’s a few of the toughies I’ll share with you guys.

UPPER BODY TABATA:
Plyometric Push-Ups (I’m actually not too bad at these – I used to work out a lot with the hubby so I got good at push ups (aka boy move!))
Regular Push-Ups
Tricep Push-Ups (I definitely need to work on these – whoa!)
Russian Twists (a nice little arm break!)
Repeat 1-4 again to complete the TABATA.

We did this upper body TABATA two times in a row.  Ouchers!!

LOWER BODY/CARDIO TABATA:
First 4 rounds: Static Lunge with shoulder press (alternating legs at each interval)
Second 4 rounds: Jumping Lunges

Burn baby burn is all I can say!!

And off to work.  How do you find happiness in work?  Well, for me it’s cute little puppiness!  Working in the pet care industry has its down sides (cleaning up messes, getting scratched/bit by mean or fearful pets) but it also has it’s up sides.

Golden Puppy

Look at that face!!  She is an 8 week old Golden Retriever pup and just adorable!!

Yes, pictures help capture the cuteness and make me appreciate it in the moment.

And the other thing is just sharing my day.  Writing or speaking about the highlights really helps you see that your life is going well and you do have things to be happy about.

On THE LIST front, I’ve started tracking my caffeine intake.  Uh oh.  I will share that will you all sometime next week, after I get a full picture of how addicted to caffeine I am.

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!

Leave a Reply

