The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

A Fresh Start

on October 30, 2013

Maybe it’s the crisp fall weather, the changing of the leaves, or the fact that I need a change in my life, but I’m ready for a fresh start.  I don’t need a clean slate, and that’s good because it’s impossible at this point in my life to have one.  I’m content with what I have in my life.  I just need a little something more.  Have you ever heard the phrase that if you feel like something is missing, then it is.  I have been having the feeling that something is missing.  And I think it’s being triggered by my biological clock.  That and the fact that all of my friends are now Moms and there are pictures of babies, toddlers and elementary school students all over my Facebook News Feed!

I’m not exactly ready to start trying now.  One of the reasons is purely selfish.  I want to have a great holiday season.  I missed last years holiday season with a very bad illness.  So this year, I want to have a happy, fun and hopefully at least a little less stressful holiday.  That includes not having any morning sickness, worrying over ovulation times, etc.

The other is well, we as a couple aren’t quite ready.  I think we could be fairly quickly, but we haven’t started getting ready.  That means we haven’t talked about the practical things you need to before you start trying to have kids, and the impractical things we want to do before we have kids.

I’m turning 34 in less than a 3 months.  I know it is incredibly possible to have kids after 35, but that number still lingers in my head.  It does raise risks.  I have a health condition which may make my risk even higher after 35.  And I just don’t want to be the Mom who can’t do something with her 10-year-old because she’s too old.  I know my genetics of my body – and I’m definitely going to have some joint surgeries down the road!

The husband and I have talked about kids briefly, and we joke about it a lot.  But we’ve never had the serious sit down and talk things out talk before.  Partly because, well, he’s a boy and (gasp!) he doesn’t like long serious talks.  And also because I’m just now at a point in my life where I feel I can handle a pregnancy and baby with lots of love and joy (and yes, stress, tiredness, etc. – I’m a realist!)

So my mind has been racing lately with all the things I want to do before I get pregnant.  I’ve written a few of them down (all that I could remember – I’m sure there’s more) and am sharing them with you now.

I’m the type of person who jumps head first into a project and goes after every change I can.  As we know, that’s not the best way to do things.  So I’m going to focus on just a couple of the steps that I think are most important right now.

  1. Get the husband on board with creating his Pre Pregnancy/Baby Bucket List.  (I don’t know if he’ll have a lot to add – we don’t drink or go to clubs, happily go to bed early, and he’s traveled almost everywhere, but I still need him to think about it)  I’m not sure how I will bring this up.  “Hey pass the broccoli – oh, and can you create a pre baby bucket list?”
  2. Work on getting at least 2 friends in the area.
  3. Giving up my dependency on caffeine.  Yikes!  I hate this one.  I really love my caffeine.  Here’s some info I’m going to use to help do this.

I’ll keep you all up to date on my fresh start.  Here’s to good things (and few caffeine withdrawal symptoms)!

Leave a Reply

