The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

Fun Friday

on October 11, 2013

Welcome everyone to another Fun Friday!  The weekend is almost here – can you believe it??

Here’s a happy summation of the past week.  I encourage you to take the time to pick out of few happy moments over your week as well.  Writing Friday’s post always puts a smile on my face and gets me in weekend mode/mood!

  1. Peanut Butter!  As a kid, I hated peanut butter, but as an adult, it’s a true love.  I had accidentally bought a jar of unsalted peanut butter and unsalted almond butter the last time I went to the store.  (And since I have chronically low BP, low sodium is not a health necessity for me.)  It took me over a month to get through each jar and I so missed my salt!  But since they are now eaten, I was able to buy my salted variety and peanut butter is back in my life again.  Though I don’t know if that’s such a good thing since I eat it by the spoonful (and often!).pb
  2. Paychecks.  I know this sounds materialistic and a bit vain, but I spent a good amount of time out of work and it feels great to be able to contribute to the families finances once again.
  3. Sunshine.  The sun has been MIA for most of the week here, but it’s shining bright now and I’m so happy for that.  Here’s to a lovely fall weekend!!
  4. Young Adult Lit.  You know, I read as a kid and teen, but I don’t remember anyone ever writing books for young adults like they do now.  I used to make fun of people for getting on the Harry Potter bandwagon (sorry all of you Harry fans – I’m just not into warlocks and spells) but I get it now.  I read the Hunger Games trilogy as I was recovering from a bad illness earlier this year and I’m hooked on young adult lit now.  I have read the 1st and 2nd book of the Divergent series (book three to be released in a few weeks – YAY!!) and just finished up Ender’s Game.  While I do read and enjoy books for people my age, i.e. the Dragon Tattoo Trilogy and I’m on the second book of the Shanghai Girls series by Lisa Lee, I still love my kid lit.
  5. Halloween decorations.  I love decorating for Halloween and am slowly building my stash.  But I love walking through the neighborhood and seeing how everyone else decorated.  It makes me happy (and sometimes a little creeped out – some decorations go to far!) and ready for hot chocolate and pumpkin muffins!

Did anyone do the TABATA series from yesterday’s post?  I did the TABATA 6 times this morning.  My endurance was fine, but my legs were begging me to stop.  And did anyone else always feel as though their timer had frozen during the mountain climbers??  Man do I hate those!

Have a great weekend everyone!!

Leave a Reply

