The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

TABATA Thursday

on October 10, 2013

It seems like Thursday has taken its time getting here this week!

Do you remember the Friends episode when Joey talks about the days of the week?  “Monday – One Day, Tuesday – Two Day, Wednesday – What Day?, Thursday – the THIRD Day!”  That’s a line we use a lot in my house.  Friends supplies a lot of our jokes!

Today I took a group exercise class full of TABATAs.  The final TABATA round was what our instructor called a “speed round”, and boy was it a tough one!  We did the TABATA twice, with a 30 second rest in between each 4 minute set, after we had already done about 50 minutes of fairly intense exercise.  We were all out of breath, but I absolutely loved the set.  So here’s my challenge for myself, and to whoever else dares to accept it.  Do this TABATA as many times as possible – with 30 seconds rest in between.  It will be a great overall workout and kick your booty for sure!  I will post my results on the blog tomorrow.  So without further ado, the TABATA:

Exercise 1: Speed Squats  These are not pulses, but full up and down squats, as fast as you can do while maintaining proper squat form.  No weights needed for this, just don’t stop squatting!

Exercise 2: Burpees  Do the level appropriate for you.  I did full burpees with the chest to ground and squat jump at the end.  I could only get about 6 or 7 completed in 20 seconds, but that’s ok, it still worked me!

Exercise 3: Mountain Climbers  I hate mountain climbers and my broken toe doesn’t love them either, but I powered through.

Exercise 4: Speed Jump Rope  If you don’t jump rope, then do high knees.  But whatever you do, go as fast as you can!

Repeat exercises 1-4 again for the full TABATA round, active rest for 30 seconds and then go again if you can!

Give it a go and let me know how you did!  Happy Third Day everyone!

 

2 responses to “TABATA Thursday

  1. […] TABATA Thursday (coldpenguin227.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] TABATA Thursday (coldpenguin227.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

