The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

Toning Tuesdays: Weather, Running and Legs

on October 8, 2013

So the weather here went from summer to monsoon to fall all the span of 36 hours.  It’s been hard to adjust so quickly to the changes.  Do you know anyone who isn’t effected by weather changes?  If so, I’d like to meet them.  Because everyone I know right now is complaining about the crazy up and down weather.   And yes, that includes me.

weather and moods

Even though the weather is completely bringing down my energy and motivation to do anything besides stay inside with a warm blanket and a good book (or maybe the remote), I’ve been busy enough with work to get myself out of the house.  And since getting out of the house is half the battle, I’ve really been able to get things done, even if I’m dragging just a bit.

My workout yesterday was a nice light cardio to prepare myself for the return of my high intensity group exercise class today and of course, Toning Tuesday!

I haven’t been to this class since the toe incident, but since I’ve been able to run a bit, and do a good amount of strength and cardio without any pain, I made my cotton ball buffer for the still broken toe, and went to class.

And while it did have some strength, the majority of the 1 hour class was doing running drills.  Sprints, laps, shuffles in any variation you can think of – boy what a sweaty, tiring class!  But it felt good to survive and with no toe pain!

Usually when I’m in a blah mood (whether due to weather or something else), I rely on the kindness of strangers for a guided workout.  Otherwise I would never get a workout in – so group exercise classes and the internet provide me with great ideas.

A majorly crazy hard but effective leg workout has been provided by the great blogger Blonde Ponytail.  I’ve done this leg workout several times before and I always feel it the next day!  It uses a lot of plyometric movements so your entire leg is used, and you burn some major calories as well.

After lots of running drills and this leg workout, tomorrow I may not be able to get out of bed!

 

Leave a Reply

