The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

Monday Musings

on September 30, 2013

Do you ever find that you are more introspective on Mondays?  I definitely am.  I think about what I want to accomplish during the week, how I want certain activities to go, and even what kind of person I want to be for the week.  It’s like Monday, even though it’s one of the most dreaded days of the week, is also a new beginning, a rebirth if you will.  It is a marker to allow you to redefine yourself, to look at what you did last week, learn, and improve.  I definitely like thinking of Monday’s in this manner instead of the beginning of the work week!

mondays1

This weekend I had an event I was nervous about.  Without going into too much detail, it involved people who can loudly point out all my faults.  And yes, these people are loved relatives so they can not be avoided.  And while every ounce of my mind knows these people are not trying to hurt me in any way, it still does hurt.

So about 4 hours before the event, I began dreading it.  I was a bit sulky and in the “I don’t wanna’s” mood.  I was persnickety and a bit mean.  I did not feel good about myself at all.  And then I thought about how I wanted to act when faced with an uncomfortable situation with these family members.

I want to be strong, be confident, and brush off their comments with grace and class.  To act in such a manner that they would rethink their comments altogether.  And by becoming a sad and scared puppy before I went to the event, I was just setting myself up to be insulted and hurt.

So I did a quick 30 minute workout to make me feel good about taking care of myself, got dressed, not my normal frumpy clothes, but nicer more fitted clothes.  I even put on mascara and blush (when normally I wear lotion, concealer and that’s it).  I went a step, but not too big of a step, beyond what I normally do to make myself feel better about me.  And you know what, it worked.  I felt good, I acted confident and I left without my feelings being hurt one bit.

I realized I had more control out of the situation than I realized.  By building myself up, they were not able to tear me down.  And just by doing simple things to make me feel good, I made a dreaded event turn into an enjoyable evening.

Exercise Challenge – The 100 rep Abs and Cardio Workout

Complete both 100 rep circuits.  Rest as little as possible in each circuit, and allow yourself to rest up to 1 minute in between circuits.  Complete as many rounds as you can!  I did 2 and my abs are burning!

CARDIO CIRCUIT

  • 40 jumping jacks
  • 30 power skips
  • 20 speed skaters
  • 10 burpees

AB CIRCUIT

  • 40 crunches
  • 30 flutter kicks
  • 20 hip dips (20 reps each side on elbows or 10 each side on hands)
  • 10 army crawls (go forward and back about 2-4 feet = 1 rep)

Links of Interest

Hip Dips: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j9X7owkYnag

Army Crawls: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1X11t4cb8Jg

Building Confidence and Self Esteem: http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/hide-and-seek/201205/building-confidence-and-self-esteem

 

Leave a Reply

