The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

TABATA Thursdays

on September 26, 2013

It’s been a busier than normal week.  I think this was due to my injury last week.  The toe, oh the toe.  It’s still not allowing me to wear regular shoes.  Flip flops are the only shoes that I can wear pain-free.  And now that it’s getting cooler, flip-flops are not the “fashion” statement I want to make.  Not to mention the fact that I still can’t enter a gym.

But since I can walk barefoot and with flip-flops, my normal schedule has begun again this week, with a bit of catch up.  Man did my house get dirty in just 5 days of taking it easy!  So it’s been clean, clean, clean for me.  With some exciting news – a bit of work mixed in.  I’ve started a new job as a contractor in the pet care service industry.  This is a field I’ve worked in before but under management that made my life a tad difficult.  I have found great management though, and am working here and there, which is great!  It feels good to be earning a paycheck again.

Aside from healing, cleaning and working, I have found ways to exercise at home.  I go through phases where I hate gyms and do a lot of home exercise.  Right now is not one of those phases, but since closed toe shoes are required in gyms, I’m forced to regain my home fitness knowledge.  There are some moves that aggravate my toe more than others, but for the most part, I can do almost anything.  So at least I’m getting some exercise in, even if it may not be the best thing for my toe.  No pain = I’m good in my book though.

One of my favorite types of exercises right now is TABATAs.  If you haven’t done TABATA’s before, it consists of 8 rounds of 20 seconds of exercise followed by 10 seconds rest.  You want to go all out during the 20 seconds, and have an active recovery during the 10 seconds (a light march or side to side step – just keep moving).

TABATAs are fantastic for allowing variety in workouts.  You can do the same exercise for all 8 rounds, or mix it up any way you want.  That’s the beauty of TABATA – whether each round is a different exercise or you repeat 4 different exercises twice, you get a fun and effective workout.

My favorite way to do TABATA’s is alternating two different exercises.  This is a TABATA routine I did recently with my husband and it was t-o-u-g-h but great!

Warm up: 3 rounds of 30 jumping jacks, 30 butt kicks and 5 tuck jumps

TABATA 1 LEGS: pulsing lunges with back leg on a low bench (alternate legs for each round)

TABATA 2 SHOULDERS AND ABS: Alternate Shoulder Presses and Bicycle Crunches

TABATA 3 BICEPS AND TRICEPS: Alternate Bicep Curls and Triceps Dips

TABATA 4 CARDIO: Alternate Burpees and Skater Jumps

Since each TABATA only last 4 minutes, this routine lasts less than 30 minutes and works every major muscle group of your body.  For the more advanced exerciser, you can add another round of these TABATAs.

Looking for an extra challenge?  Add this 5 minute cardio burst into your routine!

Complete this circuit for 5 minutes:

  • 100 revolutions jumping rope
  • 10 box jumps
  • 20 bench alternating leg jumps

Links of interest:

Bench alternative leg jumps: http://www.ehow.com/video_2351331_do-jump-lunge-bench.html

Burpee Progression for beginner to advanced burpees: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KFX-uqNylY0

TABATA Timer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oo4sKMQReCE

Happy TABATA Thursday!

Leave a Reply

