The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

The “Next Week’s”

on September 20, 2013

Do you suffer from the “next week’s”?  Symptoms include:

  • Putting off things you want to do until “next week”
  • When next week comes and things don’t start out the way you envisioned, you again put things off until “next week”
  • And the cycle continues on and on and on.

Generally the “next week” syndrome occurs for things we want to change in our life, whether it’s health, job or relationship related.  Change is scary.  Change is hard.  And even though we really want to make the changes, the scary and hard part of it causes us to keep our good intentions of the change, but not actually follow through with the steps that create the change.  And while good intentions are wonderful, they are not actually going to give you the results you want.  So the “next week” syndrome (or similar versions that include the “tomorrow”, “next month” and “next year” syndrome) actually hamper our health, happiness and personal growth.

I currently  have a bad case of the “next weeks” in almost every aspect of my life.  I have a vision of the exercise schedule I want to follow – so I’ll start “next week”.  Though I do give myself slack in this since my broken toe does not allow me to do a great deal of exercise.  I do what I can though, including ab work, arm work, a bit of leg work and stretching.   To be honest, I’m going a bit stir-crazy.  My muscles literally ache to jump and run.  I can’t wait until “next week” to start up my exercise routine again!

I want to fix my diet, in particular my lunch and snacking habits.  And at a time when I should be concentrating on my diet since my fitness has been sidelined, I still say I’ll start “next week”.  I feel that this week is a “bust” since I can’t workout, so I might as well let my eating go a bit.  If I can’t workout, why bother watching what I eat?  It’s not rational thinking at all, but for some reason when this thought enters my mind, it makes perfect sense to me.  I don’t get it.

Our house needs some serious “Fall Cleaning”, including thorough cleaning of windows/blinds, cleaning out and organizing closets/pantries and files, and deep cleaning of the appliances.  Now this is not fun for me.  I hate cleaning.  At times I can stand it with some good music, but most of the time I just power through it to get it done.  But living in a house that’s messy drives me absolutely insane.  And since I’m home resting my toe more, the mess is really getting to me.  Yet do I do anything about it?  No, I’ll do it “next week”.

Why do we always need to have a definite start date that usually coincides with the first day of the week, the first day of the month or the first day of the year?  It always has to be perfect from the beginning – from the moment you wake up to the  moment you go to sleep.  If you make a mistake, then you give up for the rest of the day and say I’ll start again tomorrow or “next week”, etc.  Why can’t we have a bad morning, but at 2pm say I’m going to start now.  Why can’t we start a new habit on a Wednesday?

Guess what?  We can!  And we should!  When the moment it hits you that you need to make a change, start it right then and there.  If you decide you need to further your education to better your career on Tuesday, then on Tuesday look into classes or seminars you can take, books you can read or webinars you can attend.  Don’t wait until “next week” to look into things.  Do it then!  If you have the time to dream, you have the time to not only plan, but do!  So go for it!

I’ve had a so-so day eating wise.  I had a healthy breakfast of quinoa pancakes, and not so great lunch at Firehouse Subs (lunch with the hubby – always dangerous!), but dinner tonight is going to be a healthy baked chicken and vegetables.  And I have an apple just sitting there waiting for my snack time.  So healthy eating starts now.  Not tomorrow, not next week, but right now.  Be like Nike, and just do it!  Don’t wait to improve your life!

Leave a Reply

