The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

Chaos & Normalcy

on September 17, 2013

We’ll start with the normal.  Normal for me: I’m a clutz.  I regularly find new bumps and bruises on my legs from running into something.  The crazy part is, I’m such a clumsy person that I rarely actually remember the event that caused set bruise.  Lately, I’ve been on a new clumsy trend: stubbing my toe.  And it’s the same toe: the baby toe on my right foot, over and over again.  The edge of the bed rails and the corner of the kitchen island are my go-to spots.  And this morning’s was a doozy.  I think I actually broke it this time.  My toe is swollen, bruised and ridiculously sore.  It’s amazing how something so small relative to your whole body can affect everything you do.  Yikes!  Here’s to quick healing with lots of ice, elevation and pain meds!

And I have to mention the chaos.  Yesterday’s events in DC were chaos.  We know people who work there and thankfully they were not in that building.  But of course with the sigh of relief that your loved ones and friends are safe, comes the pain and guilt of those who did not make it out either at all or unscathed.  I always find it ironic that in the face of tragedy, especially one like this, uproars begin over how we can never let this happen again.  And I agree with all the fighters who want to prevent this.  But when push comes to shove, there are many people who are not willing to take necessary steps, even if they are a bit painful.

I’m not one to get overly political outside.  I never post anything controversial on social media and rarely get into heated discussions over topics.  My closest family and friends know how I feel, but that’s it.  But I guess sometimes you need to put yourself out there a bit.

We need to keep Dr. Janis Orlowski’s comments in our minds, even when the pain subsides.  Because usually when we stop mourning and the media stops covering, the cries to fix things also stop.  Let’s keep the cries going.

Leave a Reply

