The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

Life Inspired

on September 12, 2013

Yesterday I became a bit inspired.  Inspired by the “I Will” movement and inspired by the memories.  Inspired to take advantage, be better, and love fully.  In such a tragedy, comes inspiration.  I hate that we live in a world were such horrible acts become almost commonplace, but I love that we live in a world where good always prevails over and out of evil.

Today I’m taking that inspiration and pretending not to be sick.  I’m on the tail end of my cold still.  I can’t take any cold medicines due to a minor heart condition, so when I get anything cold or sinus related, it stays with me for a long time.  I’m no longer in the “Pribe of Libe” phase, and have entered more of the Phoebe “Sticky Shoes” phase.

Can you tell I’m a fan of “Friends”?

Despite that I decided to give myself a small test last night, and if I passed, I would go through my normal routine today.  The test was 2 parts.

1 – do a short but high intensity workout.  This one was a doozy, and I have to admit I got a little dizzy during it, but it was a great workout and I survived without any ill effects.

The two main movements are tough.  If you need to make adjustments, you can (slow down, don’t jump as far or squat as low) or use different exercises until you work up to the side mountain climbers and squat jumping jacks.

For the Side Mountain Climbers
Level 1: Mountain Climbers – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nmwgirgXLYM
Level 2: Alternating Side Mountain Climbers (just like mountain climbers but bring the knee toward the outside of your elbow)

For the Squat Jumping Jacks
Level 1: Jumping Jacks
Level 2: Sumo Jacks – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6fv1ZildzJM

I love the Tabata format – it will get your heart pumping!

Test Number 2: Make dinner.  I haven’t made dinner in almost a week, relying on eating out or microwave dishes.  I wasn’t excited about cooking (I usually miss it) so I choose something a little easy to cook – one of my go to quick cook meals, Parmesan Chicken Cutlets with a side salad.  There are several different versions of this recipe out there, but the one I made last night was Jamie Deen’s version he had cooked on “The Chew”.  It was easy to make, but I forgot that with three different dipping dishes and raw chicken – it’s a lot to clean up!  It took us way too long to clean up after dinner.  I guess I’m out of practice on that too!

But I survived both tests and woke up no worse for the wear this  morning.  So normal Thursday.  I have a class I love to take on Thursday mornings.  It’s a combination of strength and cardio and you come out of it tired, sweaty and feeling tested.  That happens to be a feeling I love.

So yes, I went to that class this morning.  I took cough syrup so I wouldn’t have a fit during the class (even though my coughing does not get worse with exercise – I still had a fear).  I hate cough syrup, but it does the trick.

Class was HARD!  But I was able to do it.  I did every exercise, probably taking it a little more easy on cardio sessions than I normally would, but still pushing myself to get a good workout.  And I did it!  I’m so excited.  It makes me feel like I’m on the road to recovery, not wallowing in self-pity of not being able to do thinks because “I’m sick”.

That’s one thing that yesterday open my eyes to: I was acting a bit like a baby with my “I’m sick” excuse.  You do need to care for yourself when you are sick, and with some illnesses watching television, reading and sleeping should be all you do.  But I was prolonging that a bit more than I should.  While I’m still going to take breaks during my day, the rest of the time I’m going to seize the moment.  I can’t be sad because I have a cold when others had suffered through much, much worse.

 

Leave a Reply

