The Cold Penguin

expanding the box

Things I’ve learned from reading blogs

on August 15, 2013

I have spent a good amount of time reading others blogs.  I read blogs of people I know, people I don’t know, people I admire, and people who I can relate to in one way or another.  And I’ve learned a lot from blogs.  Here’s a few things I have learned, in no particular order.

  1. A blog should be short and sweet.  I know I don’t abide by this rule.  I use my blog as a journal or an outlet for  the words that are jumbled up in my head.  And I know there are several blogs out there like that as well.  And that is just fine.  If it helps you to put words onto paper (or computer screen), then do it.  I sure do!  But if you are looking for followers, and more accurately, readers, then it needs to be short.  I can be reading a blog that is incredibly touching, relatable and interesting, but after 4-5 paragraphs, I’m done.  My attention span is gone.  I love reading novels, but blogs do not make good novels.  (Notice that this paragraph should have been much shorter, according to my topic.  I do not follow my own advice!)
  2. Life is how you look at it.  I read a lot of diary-type blogs, where people type about the highlights of their day, week, or life in general.  And while there are a few sad/bad things in there, the majority of the blog is happy and fun.  And do I think these people go months without having any sadness, frustration or anger?  Nope.  But the way they choose to present their lives to the world is void of the negative, and full of the positive.  This is something I’m striving to in my life and way of thinking.  Positivity.
  3. We all make mistakes.  More than not, I see typos in blogs.  And it never bothers me, because it reminds me that even though a blogger may be presenting an elegant, fun and trouble-free life, they are not perfect.  Mistakes happen and some go public.  But that’s not a reason to stop doing your thing.
  4. People love food.  While I’m not an exception, it’s still amazing how much people love food, love taking pictures of food, love writing about food and sharing recipes.  Some is healthy, some is not.  But people really still have the natural instinct to acquire food.  It makes me have a relatable moment to my dog who is always in the search of something edible.
  5. We all strive for the same thing: happiness.  Whether you find happiness in living a healthy, active lifestyle, being an artist or an entrepreneur, finding the perfect mate or raising beautiful kids, we are all seeking happiness.
  6. Related to number 5, a lot of people have difficulty finding where their happiness lies.  I am guilty of this one.  We are all that searching for what makes us tick.  We live in a world where we conform to a norm – job, marriage, family.  And sometimes those things make people happy, while other times they do not.  It may be you need a change in your job, find the right hobby, or something more drastic to find happiness.  But many of us are trying our hardest to figure out what will make us our happiest.

So all in all, I’ve learned simple life lessons through reading blogs.

  • Be concise.
  • Be positive.
  • Don’t be afraid of making mistakes.
  • Eat well.
  • Be happy.
  • Find and do what makes you happy.
Leave a Reply

